S1 Downpipe Fitting

The place to "speak geek"
Turtlepower

S1 Downpipe Fitting

Post by Turtlepower » Fri Apr 15, 2011 7:42 pm

Hi Guys

Looking for some recommendations in the Glasgow area for a garage to take my S1 to for a new flexi downpipe to be fitted. Would have attempted this myself but living in a flat in the city centre i dont have the location for it! :D Bit last minute but looking for it to be done by thursday as we are supposed to be going away on a little driving tour! :thumbsup

Already got the downpipe from these guys www.motorsportworld.co.uk for a Janspeed one for £111.03 inc delivery. Also considering getting the gear linkage upgrade and was looking for people recomendations on one. Mrs has started driving the car and it has highlighted to me how notchy the gear change is with it not liking going into gear very smoothly! Can only be described as a kind of rubbery / stiff resistance. Think i have been driving around the problem for a couple of years but the new driver has highlighted the problem! :(

:cheers

Steven
1998 S - 1.8 Lotus Elise - New Aluminium

robin
Jedi Master

Re: S1 Downpipe Fitting

Post by robin » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:07 pm

Cannot help on the Glasgow area downpipe fitting, but don't leave until last minute - the studs into the manifold have a habit of shearing which turns a sh*t job into a real turd.

Re: the gearchange, by all means change the linkage, but some careful cleaning, lubrication and alignment can also work wonders.

Cheers,
Robin
I is in your loomz nibblin ur wirez
#bemoretut

Dominic

Post by Dominic » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:41 pm

Not sure of any west coast garages; all the one's I would use are in the east; SLS, Murrays, Falkland, Dan....